Guest Blog by Greg Dreyfus – How do I use Twitter?

The first time I heard of Twitter I rushed to judgment describing it as an RSS feed on speed. But it is far from. The concept of Twitter is so simplistic in nature that it can slot into existing processes or even create new ones that are more efficient by being effectively a mini-blogging platform, an RSS feed as well as an instant messaging platform all in one.

Personally, I use Twitter for various purposes. In my daily life, it is used to promote my creative outlets whether they are blogs, pictures or videos; it allows a quick broadcast of my work to the connected world. I also use Twitter as a virtual equivalent of Speakers’ Corner to voice my thoughts & opinions, except my voice is not force upon others but instead they have chosen to listen… or unfollow straight after. This is part of the beauty of this system. The organically grown network of followers you acquire on Twitter are interested in what you have to say and have the choice to stop following you.

Ever since I’ve let Twitter integrate into my life, I’ve had my finger on the pulse & found myself more connected with my local community & with what’s happening around me. I’ve made great connections with individuals & businesses that would have never happened in the tangible world.

Twitter has allowed me to easily expand the feed of information I receive in the fields I’m interested in and, depending on my followers, some I’m not which can be quite refreshing sometimes. I regularly re-tweet (to post again to non-twitter savvy) information if I think it is useful, informative and relevant to what I am about.

People are finding new uses for Twitter all the time – what will you use it for?

The links to my blogs are

as follows:-

Gregs  – Blog

Gregs Foodie – Blog

@GR3GD

One Response

  1. To be honest I’m not very smart with how twitter works, but I really like it a lot! It’s great to keep in touch with friends and see what they’re doing on a daily basis. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

